Grizzly Den


The Grizzly Den is a highly-entertaining and educational event where you can learn about how top-notch reviewers evaluate proposals. By a consensus of the Grizzlies, the best protocol will be announced at the CAEP Research Awards Ceremony.

The runners-up from the 2018/19 CAEP Grant Competition EMAF category will compete at CAEP 2019 for up to $10,000 in grant funding.

The information below is for the CAEP 2018 Grizzly Den – stay tuned for more  information about the CAEP 2019 competition.

2018 Grizzly Presenters

Shannon Fernando (The Impact of Frailty on Outcomes in Emergency Department Patients with Sepsis – A Feasibility Trial)
Christopher Skappak (SEPSIS ED: Identifying urinary Biomarkers of patients with early sepsis in the emergency department)
Katie Maguire (Emergency Department Assessment of Right Ventricular Function and Size in the Post Cardiac Arrest Patient)

2018 Grizzlies

Ottawa, ON

Carolyn Snider MD FRCPC
Winnipeg, MB

Devin Harris MD CCFP(EM)
Kelowna, BC

2018 Grizzly Den Moderator

Venkatesh Thiruganasambandamoorthy
Ottawa, ON

We thank our very generous EM Advancement Fund donors for supporting the Grizzly Den and our other CAEP grant programs.